Good Friends are Rare

During my life I have had few what I would call "Good Friends".  I have had alot of aquaintances.  I can count the number of really Good Friends that I have on my hands.
 
They say that if you can make it through your life with 5 Good Friends you are a loved person.  To me a Good Friend is a person that Gets you. That without communication is happy in your prescence.  There is something to be said about familiarity in silence. 
 
I look back over my life in reflection alot.  I know that I have good friends old and new… Each of them have a very monumental part of my heart and will always be wrapped around my soul.  Some of them may have drifted for reasons beyond control.  However, like any good friend they find their way back again.  Everything has a time and a place they say.  I truely believe this.  I believe that when you really need them they have a way of knowing.  This is to be said for the friends that you haven’t met yet.  The love found in friendship is a very complex and yet simplistic thing. 
 
When you are wrapped in it you know it.  When you have had it you know it…. and when you find it well you know it.  I realize now that I would not be whom I am without each of my good friends.  Some have stood in the shadows and been my friend in silence throughout some of the most troubling times of my life.  Some were good friends to me just in prescence and others well they are the out front screaming they are my friend type.
 
It is not often that you have someone thank you for being their friend.  I hear it alot actually from one of my friends.  So I am going to say it to my friends. 
 
Susan – You have me known me the longest – from another time and another place.  Almost feels like another life at times.  I just want you to know that your friendship has always been in my heart… I never forgot you, our friendship, nor did I ever stop thinking of you, looking for you and hoping that we would find each other again.  Thank to a power beyond our control here we are again.  Thank you dear Susan for understanding ME… when I couldn’t understand myself. 
 
Linda – My dear dear dear Linda…  My best friend in silence.  I love you Linda… without you I don’t know how I would have survived Ottawa.  There are angels on earth they say.  I know you are one of mine.  I love you like a sibling and there is no way I could write this blog without thanking you for your dedication, compassion, love and understanding.  You pushed me to make hard choices and because of that I will forever love you…..
 
Ken & Kim – Goes without saying that you have brought me a new found freedom in my heart… I laugh, feel safe and enjoy myself.  HMMMM Enough said.  You know how I feel about you two.  I tell you as much as you will hear it.  Thank you for loving me like part of the family.
 
I guess it goes without saying that I have to say something about the person that I was lead to.  The person that made me a different person.  There are alot of people that had a hand in my finding Kari.  Alot of people that pushed me in silence to be the person I knew I could be with Kari’s love.
 
Kari – You are my princess, don’t you forget that love.  You have my heart on a string.  I have never felt so safe and loved.
 
It doesn’t come easily to me to write like this.  It is actually a very hard thing for me.  I saved this in draft and wrote and stopped and wrote again.  I still have reservations about publishing it. 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Friends are Rare

  1. Rusty says:

           Hi John:
              Sounds like everything is alright in your world and I am so happy for you. You have found a rare gem in Kari, hang on to her. My best to you both and I hope what you both have lives on forever. Take care and God bless and I wish you a Merry Christmas and all the best in 2009.
                                 Lots of love…………….Rusty  ((HUGS))

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi John,A very well written blog. 🙂 Good job! Im glad you have alot of close friends and everything seems to be going great for you. :)Thank you for always dropping by my blog and leaving comments. I really appreciate them, and always look foward to reading what you have to say. 🙂

  3. Jen says:

    Whoops – just realized I posted my last comment in the wrong account. 🙂

Leave a comment